Badajoz, 29 January 2024 - 02 February 2024



This is the 20th winter school in Dynamical Systems of the DANCE (Dinámica, Atractores y Nolinealidad: Caos y Estabilidad) Spanish network.



(Project RED2022-134273-T)




Joan Torregrosa (Universitat Autònoma de Barcelona)
Patricia Yanguas (Universidad Pública de Navarra)


1 Freddy Dumortier (Hasselt University)
2 Josep Sardanyés (Centre de Recerca Matemàtica)
3 Dongmei Xiao (Shanghai Jiao Tong University)
4 Rosana Rodríguez López (Universidad de Santiago de Compostela) 


1 A. Álvarez (Universidad de Extremadura)
2 J.L. Bravo (Universidad de Extremadura)
3 L.A. Calderón (Universitat de les Illes Balears)
4 M. Fernández (Universidad de Extremadura)
5 I. Ojeda (Universidad de Extremadura)
6 F. Sánchez (Universidad de Extremadura)



  • James Meiss (University of Colorado)
    Symplectic maps and Transport
  • Han Peters (University of Amsterdam)
    Entropy of complex dynamical systems
  • Tere M. Seara (Universitat Politècnica de Catalunya)
    Invariant manifolds, their breakdown in near integrable systems through singular perturbation theory. Examples and techniques

Poster tittles and abstracts

Download the schedule below.


Scientific Sessions

 Symplectic maps and Transport - James Meiss (University of Colorado)

1) Phenomenology of Area-Preserving Maps
2) Symplectic Maps and KAM Theory
3) Twist Maps and Generating Functions
4) Birkhoff’s theorem and Periodic Orbits
5) Mather’s Variational Theorem and Cantori
6) Transport and Turnstiles

 Entropy of complex dynamical systems - Han Peters (University of Amsterdam)
Consider the iteration of a holomorphic map. What is the topological entropy? Is there a (unique) measure of maximal entropy?
This is a classical subject, that goes back to works of Brolin, Lyubich, Mane, Gromov, Bedford-Lyubich-Smillie and many others. I could start by giving a short introduction to both complex dynamics and (a small part of) ergodic theory, then review some of the most important results in this direction, and end with recent results on the entropy of transcendental holomorphic maps, in joint wotk with Anna Miriam Benini, Leandro Arosio and John Erik Fornaess.
 Invariant manifolds, their breakdown in near integrable systems through singular perturbation theory. Examples and techniques - Tere M. Seara (Universitat Politècnica de Catalunya)

In this course we will review a classical problem in perturbation theory. We will consider a system having some hyperbolic manifold (point, periodic orbit, torus etc) with stable and unstable manifolds which coincide and study how they split when perturbing the system. In the regular case, we will review the well established  method, known as Melnikov-Poincaré method, which provides an asymptotic formula which measures the difference of the manifolds in a suitable section in terms of the perturbing parameter.

We will study the so-called singular case, where the system is degenerate and this formula is not always valid. We will focus in analytic systems where the splitting is exponentially small in the
perturbing parameter.

We will show some famous examples where this phenomenon occurs like the Hopf zero-singularity, the restricted three body problem or the problem of Arnold diffusion in the so-called a priori-stable systems.

Then we will give some ideas of how can prove a formula which gives the asymptotic measure of the splitting of separatrices in these cases.

 Carter Hinsley, Georgia State University (United States of America)
 Teodoro Mayayo Cortasa, Universitat Autònoma de Barcelona (Spain)
 Alexandra Lillo Escuder, Universitat Politècnica de Catalunya (Spain)
 Roberto Trinidad Forte, Universidad de Extremadura (Spain)
 James D. Meiss, University of Colorado (United States)
 Jared Blanchard, Stanford University (United States of America)
 Carlos-Jesús Moreno-Ávila, Universitat Jaume I (Spain)
 Pablo  Borrego Ramos, Universidad de Extremadura (Spain)
 Elvira Pérez Callejo, Universitat Jaume I (Spain)
 Diego Noriega Rodríguez, Universidad de Oviedo (Spain)
 Marcos García Barriopedro, Universidad Politécnica de Madrid (Spain)
 Gabriel Alexis Rondón Vielma, Universidade Estadual Paulista (Brazil)
 Ananda Paola  Rivas Marquina, Universidad Nacional del Litoral (Argentina)
 Miquel Barcelona Poza, Universitat Autònoma de Barcelona (Spain)
 Luis Ángel Calderón Pérez, Universitat de les Illes Balears (Spain)
 María Martín Vega, Universidad de Valladolid (Spain)
 Ainoa Murillo López, Universitat de Barcelona (Spain)
 Álvaro Fernández Mora, Universitat de Barcelona (Spain)
 Miguel Garrido, Universitat Autònoma de Barcelona (Spain)
 Paula Álvarez Lombardero, Universidad de Oviedo (Spain)
 Enrique  Ponce, Universidad de Sevilla (Spain)
 Alejandro Marqués Lobeiras, Universidad de Oviedo (Spain)
 Clementa Alonso, Universidad de Alicante (Spain)
 Ziyad Sharawi, Universidad Politécnica de Cartagena (Spain)
 Jose Salvador Canovas, Universidad Politécnica de Cartagena (Spain)
 Alex Haro, Universitat de Barcelona (Spain)
 Philip Pita Forrier, Universitat de Barcelona (Spain)
 Pablo Galán Játiva, Universidade de Santiago de Compostela (Spain)
 Matteo Pandolfi, Universitat Politècnica de Catalunya (Spain)
 José Lamas Rodríguez, Universitat Politécnica de Catalunya (Spain)
 Dídac Gil Rams, Universitat Politècnica de Catalunya (Spain)
 Tere M. Seara, Universitat Politècnica de Catalunya) (Spain)
 Donato Scarcella, Universitat Politècnica de Catalunya (Spain)
 Han Peters, University of Amsterdam (Netherlands)
 Patricia Yanguas Sayas, Universidad Pública de Navarra (Spain)
 Ernesto Lanchares Sánchez, Universidad Pública de Navarra (Spain)
 Víctor Álvarez Aparicio, Universidad de La Rioja (Spain)
 Sebastián Buedo Fernández, Universidade de Santiago de Compostela (Spain)
 Jesús Dueñas Pamplona, Universidad de Valladolid (Spain)
 Rosana Rodríguez López, Universidade de Santiago de Compostela (Spain)
 Claudio  Sierpe, Universidad del Bío-Bío (Chile)
 Óscar Rodríguez del Río, Universitat Politècnica de Catalunya (Spain)
 Fausto Vega, Carnegie Mellon University (United States of America)
 Martin Lo, Jet Propulsion Laboratory, California Institute of Technology (United States of America)
 Joan Torregrosa, Universitat Autònoma de Barcelona (Spain)
 Larkin Liu, Technical University of Munich (Germany)
 Arturo Vieiro , Universitat de Barcelona (España)
 José Pedro Gaivão, Universidade de Lisboa (Portugal)
 Dante Basile, Purdue University (United States)
 João Lopes Dias, Universidade de Lisboa (Portugal)
 José David Gutiérrez de Alba, Universidad de Zaragoza (España)
 Joan Carles Tatjer, Universitat de Barcelona (Spain)
 Angel Jorba, Universitat de Barcelona (España)
 Ignacio Ojeda, Universidad de Extremadura (Spain)